• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV

Review Highlights

  • Needs Improvement

    If you have deep pockets and you are desperate to eat Bengali food on St Marks road, do visit this place.

  • sunny32 sunny32
  • Needs Improvement Feb 15, 2014

    The restaurant ambience is good and suited for couples and families. The drinks menu has only wines and mock tails, no beer/whisky/vodka/cocktails etc,.

    Other than the smoked hilsa and the wine :-) , everything else was average tasting.
    Calcutta style fish fry is average. Shorsay narkol chingri (prawn cooked in coconut milk and mustard) can be appreciated only by people who are used to large amounts of mustard in their food regularly. I liked the bland watery rui maachher dom jhol.
    It also looks like they are facing a shortage of good fish supply.

    Malpua and rasago
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • Munchingmachine Munchingmachine
  • New dimension to Indian Food Mar 04, 2013

    The location that was once popular for housing Mainland China on St. Marks road has since made way for Oh! Calcutta. A restaurant that serves Bengali Cuisine and in my single visit there i must say i had quite an amazing meal.

    Their preparations of sea food are simply superb and can be an awesome alternative for some one who is tired of coastal cuisine. Not to say they handle other meats any different the lamb main course we ordered was cooked to perfection. The lamb was fork soft and had the most juicy semi gravy masala to it. The only slightly different part was instead of rice or
    ... read more

  • udayan.pani udayan.pani
  • Disgusting Weekend Buffet Jan 20, 2013

    Was there for the buffet last saturday. I was a regular at Oh! Calcutta, Pune and absolutely loved the place. I expected the Bangalore franchise to be the same only to be extremely disappointed. The starters were cold - the paneer rubbery from being left cold for a while. The taste of the non-veg starters was good though. There were flies hovering and devouring the sweets and the salads. The fish and mutton curry curry so watery that it had had been diluted to a very bland taste. The crab had so much spices and masala that the flavor of the crab was lost. The chicken was not great either - cold... read more

  • navyadsouza navyadsouza
  • Yummy food, huge portions but expensive Jan 15, 2013

    Was there for lunch with a pal on a weekday. The place was empty but looked rather fancy. Oh! Calcutta prides itself with serving authentic Bengali cuisine and the menu is filled with the most heard of and some unheard Bengali delights.

    We started off with three starters. Bengali styled fish fry, prawn cutlets and a chicken-on-skewers dish. The fish fry was done to a crisp and the mustard sauce that accompanied it gave a it a nice zing. The prawn cutlets were thin but they were bigger than our palms. Again, the dish was a hit. I didn't taste the chicken dish but my companion rated it
    ... read more

  • Navoditravi Navoditravi
  • Excellent Bengali food Nov 17, 2012

    I have been here twice and love my experience. They are probably the best restaurant that serve bengali cuisine here in BANGLORE. must try would be the gorgeous chingri malaai curry(Prawns cooked in Coconut basedCream gravy) The famous Calcutta biriyaani and other non veg offerings here. Mishti doi is nice too and so are the rasmalaais..Must visit during Puja and the bengali new year. Meal for Rs.1400.

  • bangaloresen bangaloresen
  • Awful! Oct 22, 2012

    Having heard so much about O Calcutta, we went there for lunch on 21st October, 2012 - to enjoy the special Durga Puja buffet. We were a group of 13 people. And afterwards, my brother and sister-in-law joined us too! And ALL OF US were sick after eating the food. Two of us had to be hospitalized, one of us was nearly hospitalized and all the others had severe food poisoning!
    It is so pathetic that a place of O Calcutta's reputation cannot deliver to basic quality and hygiene standards! So let's not even start talking about taste!

  • brup_deb brup_deb
  • Best Bengali food in town. Aug 15, 2012

    Unquestionably best place to try Bengali food in town. They are higher side of price, but no doubt I never experience they compromise on quality. Every time i visit here, get the best of service and best Bengali food. Specially at The Hisha festival, the best of Hilsha they served on table with amazing preparation. I'm sure ' River of Queen' find her best chef here, to be served in'divine' taste. I'm cant stop loving this place.

  • turbochrgd turbochrgd
  • Not genuine Bengali food May 21, 2012

    Loads of hype around this restaurant. Been to this place 3 times now. Every time I go there, I tell myself, last time I didn't order the right preparation or maybe the chef was having a bad day, this time they are gonna give my mom's food a fight. Good music and good service. But the food is far from Bengali food. The dishes served here are just named after Bengali dishes and the ingredients are Bengali, but they don't taste Bengali. Not even close IMO. Pretty much tasteless food. The aroma from the food was absolutely zero, nothing...none. The food has been tuned to suit the taste of people from... read more

  • RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT

    Replied by: Speciality Restaurant, Guest Relations, on May 22, 2012 Flag this

    Business Owner
    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

    Could you please share your telephone number with us at sharmistha@speciality.co.in so that we can contact you? Please consider the request as knowing more about your experience will help us improve.

    Regards,
    Sharmistha
  • ireviewer ireviewer
  • Ok Food, but highly priced! Mar 09, 2012

    Been there with friends. The food quality was average but the prices were too high.
    For 6 people the bill came around 5800/-. Average price of each item is 400. :(

  • pinkyborah pinkyborah
  • I just loved it Oct 19, 2011

    Starting from the appetizer to the sweet dish, everything was so yummy. Dying to go there again. I want to try each and every item in the menu. :)

  • RESPONSE FROM MANAGEMENT

    Replied by: Speciality Restaurant, Guest Relations, on Oct 20, 2011 Flag this

    Business Owner
    Dear Pinky,
    Thank you ever so much. As they say appreciation is the best form of motivation. Looking forward to your next visit.
    Warm Regards,
    Neena.

Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Bangalore : All Zones| South Bangalore | Central Bangalore | North Bangalore | East Bangalore | West Bangalore
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Bangalore
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :