• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV

Reviews of Modak

first reviewed by jlnblr
  • srsrini srsrini
  • What a slide from awesome to awful Apr 06, 2012

    Our family loved Modak when it was launched. My kids wouldn't mind the long waits for the tables. The kids liked it so much that they picked the place for our anniversary lunch. What a letdown. Modak has lost many things - Organic, its own separate space, and more importantly quality. It is still termed 100% vegetarian, though I am not sure if you can be 100% vegetarian while sharing the kitchen with a Japanese restaurant.

    The food was plasticky and sat heavy on the stomach. The service was slow for the quality of the food.
    If you are looking for North Indian restaurants, there
    ... read more

  • rahul.arora rahul.arora
  • Redefined Modak Restaurant Oct 16, 2011

    Recently been to this restaurant with my family.The menu has changed to alakat .we had ordered makai shorba,paneer chatpata tikka,modak platter, paneer kurcharan,veg. makanwala,janter manter gravy,dal modak ,pudhina biriyani and bread's.The food was really awesome and so is the service. it is different from other restaurants and i recommend this to all.

  • rao007 rao007
  • Average food Mar 14, 2011

    Recently been to this rooftop place for lunch..We ordered the special thali( Rs 200/-)..Was expecting a delightful variety and was a little dissapointed..We have rice,pakoda,puri,saagu,slad,modak,dal, which were just avg in taste..the kheer was decent...the dessert was a joke..it was a ping pong size vanilla ball...wouldnt recommend it to others ....not worth it for this price....

  • whereisvj whereisvj
  • Misleading! Dec 05, 2010

    I am a Vegan an advocate of "RAVE" diet. I was excited to read an article in TOI recently that , "Come December, Modak will introduce RAVE diet". I was happy so know that, we've someone in Bangalore running who puts ideology above "foot-falls". However, this place only flattered to deceive.

    For the uninitiated, A RAVE diet is:

    No Refined foods
    No Animal foods
    No Vegetable oils
    No Exceptions & Exercise

    I saw a Big hoarding of Modak and upon entering , I found a Japanese restaurant. I wondered If I'd come to the right place because "Organic vegetarian"
    ... read more

  • shanky30 shanky30
  • Simply Organic ! Aug 19, 2010

    Just saw this place on my way... and decided to try. After getting tired of the hotels and food court's in Bangalore; this one was a treat. Simple food and homely taste. The "modak" and the typical Karnataka food was awesome. I give this place a full five :)

  • garygopal garygopal
  • Organic and Tasty are synonyms now Aug 03, 2010

    Go with the same mindset as you would to your first wine tasting trail. The taste of tomatoes used in their daal, reminds me of how tomatoes tasted about 15 years ago in bangalore. Pure ! With the modaks they serve, I can bet "no one can eat just one". My wife loved the fig icecream they served .. It appears in her dreams these days ! As you enter, dont forget to check out all the cool Ganesha idols that welcome you.

  • ishan.vaish ishan.vaish
  • Horrible Food, Pathetic Service, Uncouth Staff Feb 17, 2010

    Never been to a restaurant, that was hyped so much in the newspaper (TOI) and branded as 'organic' (but asteless which they forgot to mention)
    Like be there was quue of atleast 10 dozen people waiting to get a taste of something which was so well presentaed in the newspaper.
    After you struggle reaching to the 3rd floor through lifts and stairs, you will find a well-wasted place; a complete mess of the excellent location, unfriendly staff, unaware waiters who knew nothing about what was being served.
    Although with the wide array of things, the food was EXTREMLY tasteless and unpalatab
    ... read more

  • slashy slashy
  • A strict NO Jan 18, 2010

    We had been to Modak this Saturday after reading the review in "The Times of India".I liked the ambience of the place.But my liking stopped there.The served many dishes.But all of them was tasteless.Even the most ordinary food prepared at home would be much better than the food here.Also the sevice was pathetic.There were lot of servers but to get one item on our table needed umpteen number of requests.In short,I woun't recommend this place.

  • live2eat_blr live2eat_blr
  • Organic doesnt need to be tasteless Jan 18, 2010

    We went to this place yesterday - after going up two floors by a claustrophobic lift and climbing up one more narrow flight of stairs (this bldg couldnt hv been certified as fire safe by the authorities), we reached Modak - sparse settings, spread out over what looked like a terrace - background music playing from an old Sony player which seems to hv been junked by its owners - two speakers tied with electric wires hanging preacriously on the parapet wall playing instrumental music. At a princely sum of Rs. 150/- per thali(Sankranti fare - normal pricing is 70/-), what was dished out was tasteless,... read more

  • sabryraj sabryraj
  • Food & service pathetic,decline to even take fdbk Jan 17, 2010

    We had been to Modak on the Newyear - Lunch to make our start of the year special.
    We waited for an Hour to get our seat. That was OK. But the food served was cold/ burnt pulao and soup was served after they served pooris. None of the gentlemen knew what they were serving. On repeated request on the content of menu they denied to give as they didnt serve all they promise in the Menu. More than that they have bounces type people in the front to collect money( reception_. When we tried to give feedback the gentlemen behaved arrogant. Same time 2 more families had also had the same experience
    ... read more



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Bangalore : All Zones| South Bangalore | Central Bangalore | North Bangalore | East Bangalore | West Bangalore
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Bangalore
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :