• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV
  • Service:

  • Price:

  • Ambiance:

  • Food:


Review Highlights

  • Delicious Dosas

    Their dosas though are something else! Don't miss them when you are here.

  • yogeshburrper yogeshburrper
  • Wonderful Mysore Bonda Dec 27, 2013

    Yet another typical tiffins restaurant where there is limited menu with quick service. We found ourselves a table, ordered butter masala dosa, savige bath(vermicelli upma), mysore bonda, tea and coffee.

    All the items were delicious to the core. Butter masala dosa was tasty - dosa was quite crispy and the potato masala was delicious. The dish that is worthy mentioning is Mysore Bonda. Usually, at other places, the bondas are crispy on the outside and a bit raw/uncooked from inside. But these ones were completely different. Crispy from outside, completely cooked from inside too. The chutney
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • navyadsouza navyadsouza
  • Delicious Dosas Jul 05, 2013

    This is a small darshini that has been around for a long time now. I can never figure out their timings. They shut and open shop at really odd times. But when they are open, I consider myself to be super lucky.

    The ambience of the place is very simple, it's a no-frills place, where you come, order and scoot as soon as possible. The service is brisk and to the point, very effective in places as crowded as these.

    Their dosas though are something else! Don't miss them when you are here. Golden, crisp and simply delicious. The bill barely adds up to anything, that's the best

  • NitinGirish NitinGirish
  • Used to have the best Kharabath Aug 28, 2012

    Till about two years back the Kharabath served here (only after 9AM) used to be really good. Later I am not sure what happened, it went to the other extreme of being just pathetic. Kharabath used to be dry earlier but now its like concrete mix with large pieces of onion.

    Other dishes are okay and nothing really special. They are now on self-service mode which is good as most of the waiters there are too ill-mannered to be able to 'serve'.

  • Vinita001 Vinita001
  • Awesome Masala Dosas - hole in the wall Jul 07, 2012

    The place is a hole in the wall, but the masala dosas are well worth it

  • nelamangala nelamangala
  • Declining Service Mar 24, 2012

    Hi All I'm a Malleshwaram resident all my life and Hotel Janata is one of the few places that used to ring the taste buds and needed no assurances. I've been a very frequent Customer right from my school days and can now clearly see the decline in Quality and Service. I agree that the food is still yummy but that's not all, Customers have to be treated with respect because it is WE who turned the place to fame. The management need to be courteous and dignified. I have witnessed many times how Customers are ill-treated and scolded for no fault of theirs. Their rule is if U have placed an order or... read more

  • kartikeyan kartikeyan
  • Perfect Dosas Sep 03, 2011

    It is rare to get doses made to perfection. My experience at janata hotel, malleswaram, left me in no doubt that this is a kind of dose paradise ... MMMMMMM ... what texture, what taste, the masala filling was just right ... the chutney super. The sambar was a trifle too sweet but hey, lets let some things just pass, right ? In the larger scheme of things ... My request to make it with lesser-than-usual oil was honored ...

    I left the place a very happy man ...

  • pooja321 pooja321
  • Superb dosas and mangaluru bhajji May 31, 2011

    I have been going to this place for nearly 15 years and the last time I went its undergone a massive change. Its turned into a self service place. Thankfully the taste has remained the same. The first thing I order when I go there is the dosa. The dosas are really yummy, melt in your mouth. The chutney isn't very hot and full of coconut. Other popular item on the menu is the mangaluru bhajji. Very tasty but high on calories. I haven't gone beyond these 2 items in the menu. Never felt like eating anything other than these.
    The only flip side is the cleanliness.

  • shekharpatel shekharpatel
  • Best Vadas in the UNIVERSE. PERIOD. Feb 09, 2011

    Glad to see the board has English Translation. In 1981, it was all kannada, but the unmistakable smell of frying vadas would draw you in. It used to close between 11AM and 5 PM! Only breakfast in the AM (vadas idlis and uttapums - with more offerings in the PM....or so I remember. I don't think I ever ate anything other than vadas in this joint.
    It was pay first type of place. The dude who sat at the counter had not washed his "baniyan" since first purchase, and never wore a shirt in the morning (no females for breakfats - may be that was the reason).

  • navneetnair navneetnair
  • Another no nonsense joint Jan 25, 2011

    Nothing much of an ambience, service is quick and the place is quite difficult to spot on a crowded road off sampige road. But the Masala Dosa and coffee made up for all that. In for a quick bite and out satisfied without much of a dent on the wallet...

  • madhukiran madhukiran
  • Best Vada Sambhar in the world Jan 24, 2011

    I have been having Vada Sambhar in Janata Hotel for almost 26yrs now, the taste and the service has not changed a bit, the ambience has been little modified, I dont care for that, for me the nostalgic flavour of Janata remains thier USP. have stood in long qs outside the hotel just to have that double vada, dose and torino...
    Used to go their with Grand Parents and I hope one day I can take my grand kids to this place :)



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Bangalore : All Zones| South Bangalore | Central Bangalore | North Bangalore | East Bangalore | West Bangalore
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Bangalore
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :