• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV
  • Ambiance:

  • Food:

  • Service:

  • Price:


  • deb_2307 deb_2307
  • Definitely Not Kolkata Maybe Kannada Jul 06, 2013

    Well if you are a Bong, having lived in Kolkata, and having had rolls in the street shops, then you may as well drop the idea of trying Chakum rolls because they really wouldn't be worth it! If you haven't had the above mentioned experience, then go ahead, you may find it just OK!

    I could only say, whatever those rolls are, they aren't KOLKATA or to be a little more polite, not KOLKATA enough!! They could belong to any place else. Your pick.

    The people owning this business have surely found the easy way out by branding this place 'Kolkata' and letting the ignorant, wannabe
    ... read more

  • mandayamr mandayamr
  • Good rolls Mar 03, 2013

    Normally go there with colleagues and friends for a quick bite at lunch. Have not experimented much. Have had variations of Egg + Paneer + Aloo rolls and they are always yummy. Can ask them to make it less spicy. Prices have gone up now.

    Have always found others having the non-veg variety also enjoying the rolls.

    On my most recent visit last week, saw that they have put up a board to let potential customers know that they will not serve them if they park in front of their immediate neighbour's home. Tells me that the owners of Chakum Chukam know the right thing to do, hope
    ... read more

  • 07anshuman 07anshuman
  • Rolls Paradise Nov 15, 2012

    One of the best Roll House in Bangalore. Service is quick and you have to pay first but the rolls are just awesome. Nice place to have a quick bite. Its most of the time crowded for the same reason. Price is a bit high but common its bangalore and that too Indiranagar.

  • rastachef rastachef
  • For a quickie Nov 12, 2012

    People often rave about this place, but I've eaten much better rolls from several places in town. That is not to say that the rolls here are bad though. The rolls are nice and heavily packed with meat, which is good. People have often spoken about the lady who runs the place and that they have found her to be a little hostile and intimidating. I've never thought so. She's always been helpful and sweet. This is a no-frills place with decent food and quick service.

  • ashish16 ashish16
  • Simply amazing Nov 10, 2012

    Rolls are really good and gives you the option of different level of spice - i tried all levels and there is a difference to feel. I like all varieties of chicken singles as double gets too filled and you may feel eating only meat.

  • navyadsouza navyadsouza
  • Place for a satisfying bite Oct 25, 2012

    A lot of people seem to be hankering over the fact that they are not authentic Kolkata rolls. Maybe, I won't claim to be an expert on Kolkata or its rolls... although the place was recommended by a friend from Kolkata, who eats there regularly. But are they good rolls? Yes, they are!

    Chakum Chukum is a rather small place. No frills here. There's a small kitchen/order counter space, and you can sit outside on a bench-table set-up and flip through the newspaper while you wait for your order. Or you can lounge on the few chairs that are placed outside the restaurant.

    Ordered
    ... read more

  • JohnyStephen15 JohnyStephen15
  • On a roll. Aug 28, 2012

    Nice roll... Nicer people. Combo for success right there!

  • vinithamalakar vinithamalakar
  • good could improve Aug 27, 2012

    good rolls especially the shammi ones...courteous staff...yeah i don;t expect a 24/7 smile on weekends....didn't interact with the lady much. my questions were answered promptly so till now no complaints. yes need more to go beside the real kolkata esplanade rolls. can you please make the other variety (read chicken and mutton) more juicy. they are very dry and no amount of onion and other stuffing helps. the main ingredients could be more juicy so that the aroma remains.

  • bangaloremama bangaloremama
  • No Longer Kolkata Rolls Aug 04, 2012

    Went to Chakum Chukum again after many months. They seem to have many clients and are doing brisk business. The lady at the roll shop is as before quite severe and not all part of being in anything called the hospitality industry. I can understand her attittude as she is working with her male staff and and men driving up in cars to order rolls and perhaps she does not want to appear too friendly or something. Honestly it was the rolls that one went for all this time. However, sadly the rolls are now nothing like what one gets in Kolkata. They are Bangalore style rolls and while thats nice those... read more

  • debayan_2307 debayan_2307
  • Not Kolkata..may be Kannada Jun 19, 2012

    Well if you are a Bong, having lived in Kolkata, and had rolls in those corner shops, then you may as well drop the idea of trying Chakum rolls because they wouldn't be worth it! If you haven't had the above mentioned experience, then go ahead, you may find it just OK!

    I could only say, whatever those rolls are, they aren't KOLKATA...or to be more polite, not KOLKATA enough!! They could belong any place else...your pick.

Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Bangalore : All Zones| South Bangalore | Central Bangalore | North Bangalore | East Bangalore | West Bangalore
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Bangalore
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :